Dollar to Naira |Latest Jobs | Npower News

Read All Nigeria News , Latest News in Nigeria; Top breaking Naija News Latest from News Week Ng


Reps Speaker announces Chairmen, Deputy Of 134 House Standing Committees [Full List]

* Bichi, Benson, Akume to chair Appropriations, Defence, NAFDAC    * Betara, Gagdi, Wase get FCT, Navy, Federal Character



Reps Speaker announces Chairmen, Deputy Of 134 House Standing Committees 


Tajudeen Abbas, speaker of the house of representatives, has announced the name of lawmakers who will chair 134 standing committees in the green chamber.


Abbas unveiled the names of the committees’ chairpersons and their deputies on the floor of the house on Thursday.



The composition of the panels is in line with house standing rules which provide for the establishment of standing committees to carry out the oversight function on government agencies and programmes and address specific issues of national importance.



Some of the lawmakers who made the list as chairpersons of committees are James Faleke (finance); Muktar Betara (FCT); Akin Alabi (works); Bamidele Salami (public accounts); Idris Wase (federal character); Leke Abejide (customs); Jimi Benson (defence); Ahmed Satomi (national security) and Yusuf Gagdi (navy).


Others are Alhassan Doguwa (petroleum resources upstream); Ikenga Ugochinyere (petroleum resources downstream); Sada Soli (water resources), and Wole Oke (judiciary).




Mike Etaba ( Chairman Public Petitions); Joseph Bassey ( Chairman Emergency and Disaster Management); Alex Egbona (Chairman Specialty Healthcare);


Abbas said the selection team relied on capacity, and competency in assigning members to the committees.



The speaker said all members of committees have equal status and must be carried along, adding that the principle of teamwork should guide the chairpersons.



He asked the leaders to “draw up their work plans” and submit them to the house.

Reps Speaker announces Chairmen, Deputy Of 134 House Standing Committee
House of Reps Speaker, Abbas


Abbas said while the parliament will work with the executive for the interest of Nigerians, it will not fail to “bring the full powers of the legislature on the “recalcitrant” ministries, departments and agencies (MDAs)


See the list of the committee chairpersons here 



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Verified by MonsterInsights